Duncan Laurence Crowned Winner of Eurovision Song Contest 2019

Duncan Laurence from The Netherlands has won the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest with his song Arcade, securing 492 points in a tense and showstopping Grand Final at Expo Tel Aviv.

The winner was announced at the end of the 64th edition of the world’s largest live music show, organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), and hosted by Israeli Public Service Broadcaster KAN

Following the performances, the votes were counted and after much suspense, Duncan Laurence was announced as the winner by hosts Erez Tal and Bar Refaeli to cheers and applause from the thousands watching in the arena, before being presented with the iconic trophy by last year’s winner Netta.

The 26 Grand Finalists, each representing public service broadcasters who are Members of the European Broadcasting Union, took to the stage in a stunning show in Tel Aviv. 41 EBU Members and Associates in total took part in the competition.

In line with the rules of the competition, winning broadcaster AVROTROS now has the opportunity to host the Contest in 2020.

Mahmood from Italy came in second place with his song Soldi with a total of 465 points, and Sergey Lazarev from Russia came in third place with his song Scream with 369 points.

The Contest was broadcast in the 41 participating countries and live streamed around the globe.

The Contest’s slogan Dare to Dream symbolized inclusion, diversity and unity, which represents the core values of the Eurovision Song Contest, which were embodied tonight by all the contestants.

2019 marked the third time that Israel has hosted the Eurovision Song Contest but the first time it has been held in Tel Aviv, having previously staged the event in Jerusalem in 1979 and 1999.

The Grand Final included performances from an array of well-known local and global artists. Last year’s winner Netta Barzilai returned to perform her new song, International pop icon Madonna performed a special version of Like A Prayer and gave audiences a treat with her new track Future, featuring US Rapper Quavo.

There was a showcase of some of the most famous artists that have graced the Eurovision stage in recent years – Conchita Wurst, Eleni Foureira, Verka Serduchka, Måns Zelmerlöw who all performed each other’s songs before joining Gali Atari, the Israeli winner of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1979. Dana International, Israel’s third winner in 1998, also wowed audiences with a spectacular performance.

Related posts